Academy Awards (Oscars)

Dolby Theater, Hollywood

Charter a Private Jet to the Academy Awards (Oscars)

There are few awards as coveted as an Academy Award.

Given for excellence in the motion picture industry, the Academy Awards are presented in 24 categories (which can change from year to year) after being voted upon by the more than 7,000 members of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.

Since 2002, the awards have been presented at the Dolby Theater in Hollywood, the 10th venue for the event since its inception in 1929.

The prestige that goes along with the famous gold statuette award stems in large part from the awards’ longevity. It’s the oldest award in Hollywood. Its offspring, the Tony Award for excellence in theater, and the Emmy Award for excellence in television, both came some 20 years after the first Oscar was presented.

Academy Awards (Oscars) private jet charter

If You Want To Go

If you are planning to attend the annual awards ceremony with all its glitz and glamour, Paramount Business Jets can arrange a charter flight to get you into any airport near Los Angeles, including these within 30 miles of Hollywood:

Get a Quick Quote Online and Book
Your Jet Early!

Booking early has many advantages. Enter a few details below to start planning your private jet flight to the Academy Awards (Oscars).

Who Wins

If the best film of the year is the one that has the most Oscar nominations then these titles – each of which were nominated in all five major categories – Best Actor, Best Actress, Best Supporting Actor, Best Supporting Actress and Best Picture – are the best ever made. However, you will see there often isn’t much correlation between nominees and winners:

  • American Hustle (2013) – no awards
  • Silver Linings Playbook (2012) – 1 award
  • Reds (1081) – 1 award
  • Coming Home (1978) – 2 awards
  • Network (1976) – 3 awards
  • Guess Who’s Coming to Dinner (1967) – 1 award
  • Bonnie and Clyde (1967) – 1 award
  • Who’s Afraid of Virginia Woolf? (1966) – 2 awards
  • From Here to Eternity (1953) – 2 awards (one for Best Picture)
  • A Streetcar Named Desire (1951) – 3 awards
  • Sunset Boulevard (1950) – no awards
  • Johnny Belinda (1948) – 1 award
  • For Whom the Bell Tolls (1943) – 1 award
  • Mrs. Miniver (1942) – 2 awards (one for Best Picture)
  • My Man Godfrey (1936) – no awards

Snubs have always been a misunderstood – and criticized – segment of the awards process. The academy was criticized in 2016 for its lack of diversity in nominees and so in 2016, the Academy board approved changes that would, by 2020, double the number of women and minorities in its ranks.

Oscar Through the Years

Academy Awards (Oscars)

The history of the Oscars is storied. Here are the years in which there were major changes or highlights in the event:

  • 1927: MGM studio chief Louis B. Mayer and guests at a dinner at his home talked about creating an organization to represent the film industry. A week later, he and 35 invitees founded the International Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences. Douglas Fairbanks was its first president.
  • 1929: The first Academy Awards ceremony was held. Some 270 attended.
  • 1937: The first Supporting Actor and Supporting Actress awards were presented.
  • 1939: The first Special Effects award was given.
  • 1941: The first documentary award was presented.
  • 1944-1946: The award ceremony is held at Grauman's Chinese Theatre.
  • 1949: The award for Best Costume Design was added.
  • 1953: The first year the Oscar ceremony was televised in the United States and Canada.
  • 1956: Best Foreign Language Film became a category.
  • 1966: The first time the Oscars were broadcast in color.
  • 1969: The Oscars are broadcast internationally (to 200 countries)
  • 2002: The first Animated Feature Film Award was established (Shrek)
  • 2001 to present: The ceremony is held at the Kodak Theatre (now known as the Dolby Theatre)

Picture Source